AICC(WA) and Edith Cowan University Annual Executive Lunch featuring Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AO

Event Date: 
10 September 2015
Bankwest Place
Level 1, 300 Murray Street

AICC(WA) and Edith Cowan University Annual Executive Lunch

“Current and future values and skills necessary for WA to continue to be a successful and resilient State into the future”

This talk will focus both on the past history of WA and global experience with a view to proposing the values and skills we need to continue to foster in WA for a successful future as WA continues to experience strong population growth. There will also be discussion of what success means, and why resilience is important for the future.

Her Excellency the Hon Kerry Sanderson AO was installed as the 32nd Governor and the inaugural female governor of Western Australia on 20th October 2014. Prior to becoming Governor she has had a distinguished career both in business and in the public sector, and has chaired as well as served on a number of boards including chairing the State Emergency Management Committee and Gold Corporation, and been a non-executive director of two listed companies, and a director of not-for-profit and charitable and community boards. She is also currently the patron of a number of charities.

Mrs Sanderson was Agent General for the Government of Western Australia from November 2008 until December 2011. Based in London, the Agent General represents the Government of Western Australia in Europe and Russia and promotes investment in Western Australia and Western Australian exports to Europe. Mrs Sanderson was Chief Executive Officer of Fremantle Ports from 1991 to 2008, a period during which container trade quadrupled and Fremantle Ports was awarded the prestigious Australian Business Excellence medal. Prior to this she was Deputy Director General of Transport and also worked in the WA Treasury for 17 years, the last five of which she was Director of Treasury’s Economic and Financial Policy Division.

In 2004, Mrs Sanderson was named an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to the development and management of the port and maritime industries in Australia, and to public sector governance in the areas of finance and transport in Western Australia. She was the inaugural inductee to Lloyds List Transport and Shipping Hall of Fame in 2005 and also was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of Western Australia in that year. In 2008 she received and Export Hero Award from the Institute of Export and she was the Telstra Businesswoman of the Year for Western Australia in 1996. She received a centenary medal in 2001 for service to the maritime industry.

Add event to my calendar