Underground power net spreads

ANOTHER fifteen Perth suburbs have been given the nod to move to underground power.

They are:

• East Victoria Park east of Berwick Street

• Carlisle south of Mercury Street

• South Perth – Mill Point north of South Terrace and west of Sandgate Street

• Mosman Park north

• Wembley north

• West Leederville

• Rivervale between Great Eastern Highway and Campbell Street

• Mt Pleasant and Booragoon east of Riseley Street to Canning River

• Claremont south of the railway line

• Subiaco north on both sides of the railway line

• Nedlands south of Stirling Highway and west of Dalkeith Road

• Bicton west

• The remainder of East Fremantle

• Mt Lawley bounded by Rookwood Street, Park Road, the Midland-Perth rail reserve, Third Avenue, North Street and Woodroyd Street.

It is expected to cost $4,000 per

property to install underground power.

The WA Government and Western Power will foot half the bill with the remainder to be paid by local government and ratepayers.

The Underground Power Steering Committee considered thirty-five

submissions for major residential projects in round two, of which eleven local governments were successful.

As the underground power projects progress, a network of underground distribution systems are being formed, joining up houses and businesses in neighbouring suburbs and creating new starting points for the network.

The WA Government aims to have 50 per cent of the metropolitan area serviced by underground power by 2010.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
47 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer