Search

Small businesses fail to target marketing plans

PLANNING marketing and sales offerings around special occasions can be a successful way for small businesses to build their profits.

Traditionally these dates included Mothers Day, Fathers Day, Christmas and Easter, how-ever, Australia Day and Anzac Day appear to be growing in importance following September 11 and the more recent Bali bombings.

Small Business Development Corporation managing director George Etrelezis said that, although most small businesses made little use of key dates, large retailers were particularly adept at basing their marketing around them.

He said heightened levels of patriotism among Australians could make marketing applicable offers around Australia Day important.

Flag maker Pennant House’s owner Stewart Van Raalte said he was noticing a much greater demand for Australian flags than before.

“Australia Day is like the Myer sales for us. We’re flat out,” he said.

Even WA Salvage has entered into the pre-Australia Day market by offering some Australian flags and flagpoles on a trial basis, and initial sales figures have been encouraging.

Mr Etrelezis said school holidays and public holidays could provide extra sales for businesses if they took the correct marketing approach to them and had the right offers for their customers.

 

KEY DATES: A list of some of the occasions occurring in 2003.

 

Australia Day: Sunday January 26

Valentine’s Day:  Friday February 14

Labour Day public holiday:  Monday March 3

St Patrick’s Day: Monday March 17

Good Friday: Friday April 18

School holidays: Friday April 18 – Monday May 5

Easter Sunday: Sunday April 20

Easter Monday: Monday April 21

Anzac Day: Friday April 25

Mothers Day: Sunday May 11

Foundation Day public holiday: Monday June 2

Fathers Day: Sunday June 15

End of financial year: Monday June 30

School holidays: Friday July 4 – Monday July 21; Friday September 26 – Monday October 13

AFL Grand Final: Saturday September 27

Queen’s Birthday public holiday: Monday September 29

Melbourne Cup: Tuesday November 4

Remembrance Day: Tuesday November 11

School holidays: Friday December 19 – Monday February 2

Christmas Day:  Thursday December 25

New Year’s Day: Thursday January 1

 

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law

Students

6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
48 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer