16/01/2021 - 15:30

Appointments January 15, 2021

16/01/2021 - 15:30


Save articles for future reference.

Our weekly appointments wrap includes Carmel Barbagallo, Christian Rasmussen, Helen Ockerby, Brad Haynes, Brent Fleeton, Nic Bowen, Amber Crosthwaite, Jennifer Keane, Rebekah O'Brien, John Guyer and Rob Donovan.

Appointments January 15, 2021

Our weekly appointments wrap includes Carmel BarbagalloChristian RasmussenHelen Ockerby, Brad Haynes, Brent Fleeton, Nic Bowen, Amber CrosthwaiteJennifer KeaneRebekah O'Brien, John Guyer and Rob Donovan

Carmel Barbagallo has been appointed as a judge of the District Court of Western Australia. Ms Barbagallo has 25 years' legal experience, beginning her career in general practice in regional Queensland before working in a variety of roles in the ACT, Victoria and Western Australia. She has served as Victoria's crown prosecutor, the consultant state prosecutor at the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions in WA and has been deputy director of the office since 2017. She was responsible for the management and prosecution of Bradley Robert Edwards for the Claremont murders. 

State government agency Health Support Services has made Christian Rasmussen chief information officer. Mr Rasmussen most recently worked as the chief information officer at Lotterywest and previously held positions at BDO, Curtin University and Monadelphous. He will start his position on February 15.

Helen Ockerby has joined the Glass Jar Australia board of directors. Ms Ockerby is a Bardi-Jawi and Noongar woman and has previously been involved with one of the organisation's sports programs, when she worked as Kimberley regional manager of Shooting Stars. She now serves as a manager at Garnduwa Amboorny Wirnan where she delivers sport and recreation programs to remote communities and townships in the Kimberley.

Rio Tinto vice president corporate relations Brad Haynes will leave the company on January 22. His decision follows the departure of several other senior executives at the company, including chief executive iron ore Chris Salisbury, after it blasted two indigenous rock shelters at Juukan Gorge. Rio Tinto said Mr Haynes had chosen to depart the company and was leaving on good terms.

Brent Fleeton has been appointed a senior advisor at Clarity Communications. In 2020, Mr Fleeton won a seat in the City of Perth Council election and serves as chair of the audit and risk committee, Perth's representative on Tamala Park Regional Council and a member of the Development Assessment Panel. He was previously the principal consultant for his stakeholder relations and business development support company OverArch. 

Nic Bowen will be Howard Park’s new chief winemaker. Mr Bowen most recently worked as senior winemaker and manager for Accolade’s Tintara Winery, where the Hardys, Chateau Reynella, Leasingham, Yarraburn and House of Arras brands are produced. Former Howard Park chief winemaker Janice McDonald will be director of winemaking. Howard Park is part of Burch Family Wines.

Lavan has made Amber Crosthwaite a partner. Ms Crosthwaite works with the seniors living, aged care and disability sectors, with a focus on regulatory compliance, sales and acquisitions and property development. She previously worked as a partner at Thomson Geer. Jennifer Keane has joined Lavan’s construction and infrastructure team as special counsel and Rebekah O'Brien as special counsel in its property and leasing team.

John Guyer is joining engineering firm Clough as senior vice president operations Australia and Asia Pacific. Mr Guyer has more than 25 years’ experience in heavy engineering and construction in Australia and overseas. During his career, he has worked in senior roles, including project director and construction director, for companies such as CB&I and KBR.

University of Western Australia adjunct professor Rob Donovan has been appointed to chair the World Anti-Doping Agency’s social science expert advisory group. Professor Donovan works in UWA’s school of human sciences as a senior principal research fellow.  He was a founding member of the World Anti-Doping Agency’s education committee and previously chaired the social science review panel.


Subscription Options