18/03/2003 - 21:00

Tribunal Posting

18/03/2003 - 21:00


Save articles for future reference.
Tribunal Posting

PLANNING and Infrastructure Minister Alannah MacTiernan has appointed Peter McGowan, a barrister who has specialised in planning law, as the new chair of the Town Planning Appeal Tribunal.

Mr McGowan replaces commissioner Jennifer Smith, who was appointed at the beginning of the year, but had to resign on health grounds.

The former long-time partner of leading law firm Phillips Fox has served as acting deputy chair of the tribunal since December 1997.

The appointment will be initially on a part-time basis, but will convert to a full-time appointment within three months of proclamation of the Planning Appeals Amendment Act 2002.

Ms MacTiernan said the State Government deliberately had not proclaimed the act before the appointment, as it was essential the new chair be given the opportunity to participate in the final decisions that will affect the practical operation of the new tribunal.

“With Mr McGowan’s appointment today, we expect to be in a position to proclaim the act and establish the new tribunal by the end of the month,” Ms MacTiernan said.

The new tribunal will enable the Government to deliver on its election commitment to modernise the appeals system and abolish the antiquated ministerial appeals system.


Subscription Options