Telstra winners

A GERALDTON physiotherapist, the head of FuelWatch, and the general manager of Austereo Perth were among the diverse range of talented women honoured at last week’s 2003 Tesltra Business Women’s Awards.

Winning the prestigious 2003 Telstra Western Australian Business Woman of the Year award was Subiaco business woman Linda Wayman for her role as general manager of Austereo, Perth.

As the first person from a non-radio background appointed to a senior executive position in the company, Ms Wayman oversees all aspects of the MIX 94.5 and 92.9 radio stations, leads a team of 84 staff and is responsible for a $27 million budget.

Ms Wayman also received the Commonwealth Government Private and Corporate Sector Award.

Principal physiotherapist of the Bluff Point Physiotherapy in regional Geraldton, Mia Royce, won the Westpac Group Business Owner Award. Four years after graduating from university, Ms Royce took over the Geraldton clinic and now employs five physiotherapists, four reception staff and has doubled turnover.

Department of Consumer & Employment Protection assistant prices commissioner Barbara Macnish won the TMP/ Hudson Community and Government Award for her efforts to regulate fuel prices in WA.

The Telstra Young Business Women’s Award went to Corinna Herbert, a young mother who established EMSO Marketing to market and distribute her range of baby travel wraps. Over two years Ms Herbert has expanded her Snug as a Bug travel wraps into 400 retail outlets in Australia and exports to the UK and Canada. 

All category winners will represent WA at the National Telstra Business Women’s Awards in Melbourne on October 25.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
47 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer