Rewarding rural achievement

THE Pastoralists and Graziers Association is gearing up for its annual award presentation to acknowledge significant contributions made in the pastoralist and farming community.The Landmark 2006 Rural Achievement award is presented to an individual based on personal achievement, local community contribution, country projects and achievement for and behalf of the PGA.The award is considered one of the most prestigious agribusiness accolades in Western Australia, and has become a centrepiece on the PGA calendar since it was first presented in 1989.PGA president Sandy McTaggart said the award was building in status each year and he was looking forward to assisting Landmark in selecting this year’s winner.Nominations for 2006 close on Monday February 13 and the award will be presented at the PGA’s annual conference dinner in Perth on February 23. The strong calibre of nominees so far this year reflects the high regard for the award in and outside the industry, according to the PGA. Landmark is a leading supplier of agribusiness products and services in Australia and has been associated with the award since its inception. According to Landmark WA state manager David Timmel, the award is recognition for a PGA member’s endeavour and extra effort in the agricultural industry. “Landmark’s commitment to servicing Australian agriculture is reinforced by the large number of awards and events we sponsor across Australia and the significant investment we make in rural and regional areas,” he said.PGA media coordinator Geoff Gare said Landmark had initiated the award as a means to give something back to the farming and agriculture industry, and the pastoralist sector in particular.“Landmark wanted to recognise the work done by individuals to promote the cause of pastoralists outside the daily activities of managing their properties, and the award also extends to the wider farming and agriculture sectors,” Mr Gare said.“The award is judged by a panel made up of a PGA and a Landmark representative, as well as an outside judge, and is specifically looking for community contribution, state and local government contribution, and industry and PGA involvement.”These traits are evidenced in previous winners such as Craig Underwood, who worked tirelessly to protect the private property rights of landowners in the face of reservation, planning and environmental pressures.Other winners include prominent Kimberley pastoralist Peter Murray, and last year’s winner Alan Cleland, who was rewarded for his contribution to the wool industry.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
47 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer