04/09/2009 - 12:23

New appointments to SWDC board

04/09/2009 - 12:23


Upgrade your subscription to use this feature.

The state government has announced two new appointments to the board of the South West Development Commission and named Augusta-Margaret River shire president Stephen Harrison as chairman.

New appointments to SWDC board

The state government has announced two new appointments to the board of the South West Development Commission and named Augusta-Margaret River shire president Stephen Harrison as chairman.

Regional Development Minister Brendon Grylls said Shire of Dardanup president Brad Day and Shire of Manjimup president Wade De Campo had joined the 10-member board, helping to lead the region's future.

"I am pleased they are going to be part of the board responsible for overseeing the commission's work in improving the economic wellbeing and quality of South West life," he said.

"Mr Day and Mr De Campo are passionate about the region in which they live and bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to their roles."

The Minister said they will be joined on the board by reappointed members Mr Harrison and Stan Liaros, with Mr Harrison taking on the role of chairman of the South West Development Commission.

"Mr Harrison is a small business owner and Augusta-Margaret River shire president and his extensive experience in business, local government and education will bring a positive contribution to the board," he said.

"While I welcome him to the position, I would also like to thank outgoing chairman

Stan Liaros, who has made a valuable contribution to the South-West during his three years as chairman. I am pleased he is continuing as a board member."

Bunbury businessman David Trench has been appointed deputy chair.

In announcing the appointments, Mr Grylls also recognised the work of outgoing deputy chairman Peter Monagle and board member Nick Oaks in the past six years.


Below is the biogs of the eight continuing board members:

Cr Stephen Harrison


Small business owner and Augusta-Margaret River Shire President, Cr Stephen Harrison, is part owner of retail outlets in Margaret River and Fremantle and is former president of the Margaret River Chamber of Commerce. He commenced his career as a science and biology teacher in the UK, later working as an education policy adviser in the UK national government which included national research into effective teaching and learning. He lives in Witchcliffe and as well as a business owner he offers consultancy services in web-based and multi-media education resource development in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the UK.

Mr David Trench

Deputy chairman

David Trench is an active contributor to the Bunbury business community and is currently deputy chairman of the Bunbury-Wellington Economic Alliance and immediate past president of the Bunbury Chamber of Commerce and Industries. David is Asia Pacific regional director of Bristol Babcock and has a military background having served five years in the 10th Light Horse Regiment. David sits on two business committees advising the Bunbury City Council, is a board member of ECU advisory board and board member of the Val Lishman Foundation. He also works as a marketing consultant to a Bunbury-based real estate firm.

Mr Don Punch
Chief Executive Officer

Chief executive officer of the South West Development Commission, Don Punch has extensive experience working throughout regional Western Australia for the Western Australian public service. Don has undertaken a variety of roles including working in regional and remote communities on the provision of infrastructure, identification and funding of community needs, and project management. Don is also a member of the Governing Council of the South West Regional College of TAFE.


Mr Stan Liaros

Stan Liaros is general manager of Group Training South West Inc, and currently sits on the board of AQWEST (the Bunbury Water Board). Stan has served as secretary, delegate and organiser with the Australian Liquor Hospitality and Miscellaneous Workers Union and with the firefighters and ambulance officers unions. A community-minded family man, Stan is involved in several regional chambers of commerce. His company supports local football, hockey, cricket and surf lifesaving organisations.

Ms Posy Barnes

Posy Barnes has a masters of business administration and is chief executive officer of Jobs South West Inc. in Bunbury. Prior to this Posy managed the State's second largest training provider, SMYL Community Services. She has a strong background in management, public relations and marketing and has worked extensively throughout Western Australia and in London. Posy brings a wealth of experience to the Commission in employment and training matters.

Cr Margaret Smith

Margaret Smith is a long serving Capel councillor with a distinguished history of community service. A retired trained nurse, she has been involved in a range of community organisations, such as the Girl Guide Association, Bunbury Alzheimer's Association, Gelorup Community Management Committee and a number of shire-related committees. Mrs Smith's hard work has been recognised with a number of prestigious awards, such as South West Woman of the Year, WA Local Government Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards, an Order of Australia Medal and an International Volunteers award.

Cr John Borlini

John Borlini is presently the deputy president of the Collie Shire Council, with a long history of involvement in the town and the South West. Mr Borlini was an industry advisor to the South West Development Authority in the 1980s, was involved in the Collie Tourism Townscape and Promotion committee, is presently chairperson of the Disability Services Committee and is also involved in a number of other council committees. Mr Borlini has served on the Collie Coal Mineworkers Welfare Board since 1984.

Mrs Patricia Hughes

Gelorup resident Patricia Hughes has a history of community involvement stemming from a lifetime association with farming and living in rural areas. She is currently involved in numerous agricultural groups. A teacher for 26 years, she has also been involved with schools in a voluntary capacity including as a scripture teacher.


Subscription Options