07/03/2018 - 23:00

Miner wins gold at 2018 40under40 awards

07/03/2018 - 23:00


Save articles for future reference.

Saracen Mineral Holdings managing director Raleigh Finlayson has received the top honour at Business News’ 2018 40under40 awards, named First Amongst Equals ahead of a diverse field of Western Australia’s young business and community leaders.

Miner wins gold at 2018 40under40 awards
Rayleigh Finlayson (left) with Business News executive chairman Elton Swarts. Photos: Attila Csaszar

Saracen Mineral Holdings managing director Raleigh Finlayson has received the top honour at Business News’ 2018 40under40 awards, named First Amongst Equals ahead of a diverse field of Western Australia’s young business and community leaders.

More than 600 people packed out the black tie gala celebration held at Crown Ballroom last night to commemorate the 17th year of the awards.

Business News chief executive Mark Pownall, who gave the keynote address, said the fact that almost 100 entries had been received this year was testament to the achievements of WA’s young entrepreneurs who were willing to back their skills and create new opportunities.

“Some of us have to keep reinventing ourselves to stay relevant,” Mr Pownall told the event.

“Success never comes overnight.”

Mr Pownall said Business News was one example of this mindset, as a Perth-based business celebrating its 25th anniversary, riding the highs and lows of the state’s economy and the media industry.

This year’s First Amongst Equals winner is another shining example. 

Mr Finlayson started with gold miner Saracen as chief operating officer in 2008, before becoming managing director in 2013 at 34 years of age.

Within a month of being appointed to lead the company the gold price had plummeted, leaving Mr Finlayson faced with some tough decisions.

He initiated a strategic review, which included suspending a $25 million expansion project and cutting directors’ pay.

These decisions paid off, and since then he has transformed Saracen from a $9 million company into a $1.3 billion miner – now the fifth largest gold producer on the ASX.

As well as leading the 40under40 class of 2018, Mr Finlayson was also named winner of the large business category.

There were three other finalists for the First Amongst Equals, who also took out top prizes in several category awards.

Vekta Automation managing director Ed Serrano was the winner of the medium business category, HealthEngine co-founder Adam Yap took home the innovation & technology category prize, and Living farm owner and managing director Richard Devlin topped the small business category.

You can read more about Mr Finlayson’s story and all the 40under40 winners online this afternoon and in our next print edition on Monday.

Other category winners included KPMG associate director Elizabeth Shaw for professional services, Wattnow Electrical owner and director Prue Plowright for family business, Moneycatcha managing director Ruth Hatherley for startup business and the City of Perth award, and Wilco Electrical director Frank Mitchell topped the Indigenous business category.

People’s Choice went to The University of Western Australia research associate Tristan Clemons, who also won the intrapreneur category. Edith Cowan University senior research scientist Veer Bala Gupta won the community award for her contribution to improving practices for Alzheimer’s disease.

Congratulations to the 40under40 class of 2018

Trenton Barrett: Perth Urology Clinic

Michael Beilby: Minnovare

Kelly Carter: Gold Fields Australia

Jane Chambers: Bluebird Childcare

Tristan Clemons: The University of Western Australia

Chloe Constantinides: Dapper Apps

Richard Devlin: Living Farm

Toby Edmunds: Formerly of Toxfree Solutions

Matthew Felton: Glosswood

Raleigh Finlayson: Saracen Mineral Holdings

Katharine Giles: Brandon Capital

Veer Bala Gupta: Edith Cowan University

Andrew Guzzomi: The University of Western Australia

Clinton Hancock: Hilton Plumbing Maintenance

Ruth Hatherley: Moneycatcha

David Heathwood: Soul Karratha & Blue Beanie Projects

Jo Hos: Fringe World Festival

Matt Huxtable: PHASE3 Landscape Construction

Daniel Jukic: Pro9 Global

Tracy Lefroy: Cranmore Home

Aymee Mastaglia: Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand

Jessica McLagan: Tokay Boutique

Nick McNaughton: Subsea Engineering Associates

Roy Mellon: Definitiv

Frank Mitchell: Wilco Electrical

Daniel Morrison: Wungening Aboriginal Corporation

Damian Norvilas: Loafers Artisan

Richard Pappas: Celsius Property Group

Raymond Pecotic: Empire Financial Group

Jessica Pitt: Scope Training

Prue Plowright: Wattnow Electrical

Paula-lee Pownall: Grubs Up Australia

Kate Raynes-Goldie: Playup Perth

Craig Saunders: Customised Projects and Custom Green

Ingrid Sealey: Fogarty Foundation

Ed Serrano: Vekta Automation

Elizabeth Shaw: KPMG

Matteo Tirapelle: Hera Engineering

Kate West: Arup

Adam Yap: HealthEngine


Subscription Options