11/06/2018 - 11:07

Local figures recognised in Queen's Birthday honours

11/06/2018 - 11:07


Save articles for future reference.

Perth business figures Erica Smyth, Peter Fitzpatrick, Danielle Blain and David Hohnen are among this year’s local recipients of the Queen’s Birthday awards.

Erica Smyth received top honours for service to the minerals exploration sector.

Perth business figures Erica Smyth, Peter Fitzpatrick, Danielle Blain and David Hohnen are among this year’s local recipients of the Queen’s Birthday awards.

Ms Smyth, who currently serves as a director of National Energy Resources Australia and was previously on the board of Toro Energy and mining services company Emeco Holdings, was named a Companion in the General Division for service to the minerals exploration sector.

The Minerals Council of Australia congratulated Ms Smyth on the award.

“These awards acknowledge the great contribution being made by women working in Australia’s world-class mining industry and the inspiration they provide to others,” the council said in a statement.

She was also recognised for her service to the community and to woman in business through corporate governance roles across a variety of industries.

Ms Smyth serves on the board of the Royal Flying Doctor Service and the Western Australian Youth Theatre Company, having previously served as chair of Diabetes Research WA and as a board member of the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research.

Mr Fitzpatrick was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the community, particularly in WA, through roles in business and the legal sector, among others.

He was the chief executive of the Motor Trade Association of WA for 11 years and also led The Law Society of Western Australia from 1985 until 1996.

The award Officer of the Order of Australia also went to former University of Notre Dame chancellor Michael Quinlan and scientist and surgeon Professor Christobel Saunders, 

Mrs Blain was made a Member in the General Division after being recognised for significant service to business and commerce to politics in WA, and to women.

She was the president of the WA Liberals from 2003 until 2008 and also served as the vice-president of the Liberal Party of Australia from 2009 to 2014.

Mrs Blain has been a director at industrial company Schaffer Corporation since 1987.

Reece Waldock was honoured for significant service to public administration, particularly to transport and infrastructure planning and development in WA.

He has held a number of senior executive roles within the Department of Commerce and Trade and the Department of Transport, including director general of transport from 2010 until 2016 and the chief executive of the Public Transport Authority from 2003 to 2016.

Mr Hohnen was made a member of the Order of Australia in the general division for service to the development of the Australian wine industry and the Margaret River region.

He is the co-founder of Margaret River-based winery McHenry Hohnen but is best known as the founder of Cape Mentelle.

Business Council of Australia chief executive Jennifer Westacott, who is also a Wesfarmers non-executive director, was also among the award winners.

Jonathon Carapetis was appointed member in the general division for services to medicine in the field of paediatrics, particularly in the diagnosis of, treatment and prevention of rheumatic heart disease.

He serves as a director for Telethon Kids Institute and One Disease at a Time.

Former Australian cricketer John Inverarity was also among those recognised for his service to education and to cricket as a player, captain, coach and national selector.

Curtin University's Margaret Nowak was honoured for services to education in the disciplines of business studies and economics.

Other Western Australians recognised included WA Opera general manager Carolyn Chard and inaugural Fremantle Dockers chief executive David Hatt.  



Subscription Options