Local Government elections

Twelve rural local governments will be running extraordinary elections, to fill positions in 18 regional wards which failed to attract nominations in time for the May 3 council elections.

Several elections will be held June 7, with nominations closing May 8.

Nominations for these elections are invited for the Shires of Beverley, Broomehill, Carnamah, Corrigin, Dowerin, Mingenew, Mukinbudin, Trayning and Victoria Plains.

Other shires will hold extraordinary elections as follows:

∑ Shire of Wickepin - May 17 (nominations have closed)

∑ Shire of Gnowangerup - June 4, with nominations closing May 5.

∑ Shire of Dumbleyung - June 21, with nominations closing May 22. These nominations open May 8.

A video on the role and responsibilities of councillors, plus two publications - 'Standing for Council: Information for Councillors' and 'Local Government Elections 2003: Questions and Answers' – are available from local government offices and from

Further information, and nomination forms, are available from local governments, the WA Local Government Association, and the Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
48 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer