10/08/2004 - 22:00

Legal Timeline

10/08/2004 - 22:00


Upgrade your subscription to use this feature.
Legal Timeline

 1901: Western Australian women vote for the first time in State elections.

1902: The Commonwealth Franchise Act passed, enabling all women (with the exception of Aboriginal women in some States) to sit and vote in elections for the Federal Parliament.

1905: Greta Flos Matilda Grieg becomes the first woman admitted to the bar in Australia.

1920: Western Australian women achieved the right to stand for State Parliament.

1921: Edith Cowan becomes the first woman elected to Federal Parliament in the seat of West Perth.

1947: Dame Florence Cardell-Oliver was the first woman cabinet minister in an Australian parliament (WA).

1962: Dame Roma Mitchell becomes the first woman QC in Australia (first female Supreme Court justice in Australia in 1965).

1976: Pat O’Shane is admitted to the bar, as Australia’s first Aboriginal barrister.

1987: Mary Gaudron becomes Australia’s first High Court justice.

1990: Dr Carmen Lawrence becomes the first woman to be elected as a State Premier (WA).

1996: Christine Wheeler becomes WA’s first Supreme Court justice.

Source: Office for the Status of Women


Subscription Options