09/02/2012 - 14:28

Day unveils redevelopment committees

09/02/2012 - 14:28


Save articles for future reference.
Day unveils redevelopment committees

The state government has unveiled four new land redevelopment committees that will advise the Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority on urban redevelopment.

Planning Minister John Day said the four committees, Armadale, Central Perth, Midland and Subiaco, would use delegated planning powers to provide advice on the delivery of urban redevelopment projects.

Former redevelopment authority chairmen Don Humphreys, Charles Johnson and Dr Fred Affleck would respectively chair the Subiaco, Armadale and Midland committees, while the Central Perth committee would be chaired by WA Planning Commission chairman, Gary Prattley, Mr Day said.

“The State Government, through the MRA, is working to meet the challenges of a growing city and it will be a significant advantage to use the knowledge and skills of these former chairmen in continuing that strategic direction,” Mr Day said.

“This is an important period for Perth with projects such as Perth Waterfront, Perth City Link, Riverside, and the Perth Cultural Centre revitalisation creating a renewed city with a network of residential, employment and lifestyle opportunities.”

The Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority was established last year to replace the Midland, Armadale, East Perth and Subiaco redevelopment Authorities.





Subscription Options