19/06/2008 - 08:35

Buswell announces new shadow cabinet

19/06/2008 - 08:35


Save articles for future reference.

Liberal leader Troy Buswell has announced the shadow cabinet he will be taking to the coming election.

Liberal leader Troy Buswell has announced the shadow cabinet he will be taking to the coming election.

"Pound for pound we can take the fight to the government, hold it to account and prove we are a credible and desirable alternative government," Mr Buswell said.

"To date we have been doing good work holding the government to account, but we will be stepping up our bid for office.

"It is worth noting that we have an experienced doctor with responsibility for the health portfolio and in the portfolios covering law and order issues we have a former DPP Senior Prosecutor in Christian Porter and a former Police Sergeant with decades of experience in Murray Cowper leading the charge.

"With these and my other Shadow Cabinet members we have an impressive team.

"The Carpenter Government has failed Western Australian families and businesses in many areas. My team and I will pursue them at every turn and outline a credible alternate vision for the State."

Changes to the Shadow Cabinet:

- John Castrilli has been promoted into the Shadow Cabinet, taking on Employment Protection on top of his South West portfolio.

- Robyn McSweeney will take on the Environment and Climate Change portfolio in addition to Child Protection, Communities, and Heritage.

- Murray Cowper will take Responsibility for the Police, Community and Road Safety, Corrective Services and Emergency Services.

In addition to Shadow Cabinet changes, Tony Simpson will take on the position of Opposition Whip.

Below is the full list of the Liberal ministers on the shadow cabinet and their respective portfolios

Troy Buswell: (leader), Federal-state relations, Small business, Trade, Multicultural interests

Kim Hames: (deputy leader), Health, Indigenous affairs

Norman Moore: (leader of the opposition legislative council), State development, Resources; Industry & Enterprise, Electoral affairs

Simon O'Brien: (deputly leader of the opposition legislative council), Planning and Infrastructure

Peter Collier: Education and Training

Steve Thomas: Treasury

Helen Morton: Public sector management, Women's interests, Mental health

John Day: Water resources, Energy

Gary Snook: Agriculture and Food, Local Government

Robyn McSweeney: Child Protection; Communities, Heritage, Environment and Climate Change

Christian Porter: Attorney General

John McGrath: Racing and Gaming, Housing and Works

Barry House: Government Enterprise, Sport and Recreation, Science

Donna Faragher: (parliamentary secretary to the shadow cabinet), Disability services, Youth

Murray Cowper: Police, Community & Road Safety, Corrective Services, Emergency Services

John Castrilli: South West, Employment protection



Subscription Options