Australian Safer Community Awards

Coordinated by Emergency Management Australia, these awards aim to recognise best practice and innovation in emergency management by individuals and organisations.

Five WA organisations featured in last year’s national awards.

Further information and nomination forms are available from FESA Emergency Management Services, (08) 9232 9342.


Community Services Industry Awards

These awards recognise individuals, small and large not for profit organisations, schools, businesses and state, federal and local governments, which provide community services and build community relationships.

Entry kits are available from (08) 9222 2833, 1800 010 004, and

More information is available from, and nominations close July 25.

This year’s WA sponsors include: Goundrey Wines, Lotterywest, Radio 882 6PR, Rendezvous Observation City Hotel, Staging Connections, The West Australian, and WIN Television.


Excellence in Public Sector Management Awards

This year's awards include eight categories.

The leadership category, included for the first time this year, will emphasise a different quality each year, this year focusing on equity and diversity.

Further information is available from and from Premier’s Awards project manager, Irene Hislop -, (08) 92228759.


Royal Australian Institute of Architecture (WA) Awards

George Temple Poole Award

Cox Howlett and Bailey Woodland, Western Australian Maritime Museum

Colorbond Steel Award

Paul Odden, Odden Rodrigues Architects, Ozone Parade residence

Department of Housing & Works Award for Public/Institutional

Joint winners: Cox Howlett and Bailey Woodland, Western Australian Maritime Museum; Darryl Way & Associates Architects, All Saints’ College Early Childhood Centre

Lysaght Single Residential Award

Joint winners: Hofman and Brown Architects, Lynch/Brown House, Subiaco; David Hartree Design Associates, Venn Street residence

Lysaght Residential Award - Alterations & Additions

John Murphy Architect, Additions Claremont

Lysaght Residential Award – Duplex/Triplex

Blacket Smith Architects, Nigel Westbrook Architect and Daniela Simon Design Studio, Malcolm Street Houses

Barnetts Architectural Hardware, Lockwood Locks & Lorient Architectural Seals Multiple Residential Award

Spowers Architects (WA) and Jones Coulter Young Architects, Panorama Apartments

Wespine Civic Design Award

Walter Hunter & Penny Watson Architects and Ralph Drexel, Pinnaroo Chapel complex

The Heritage Council of WA Heritage Council Conservation Award

Joint winners: Cox Howlett and Bailey Woodland, and Hocking Planning & Architecture, Perth Town Hall – Stage 1 Refurbishment; John Taylor Architect, Church of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Mullewa

Jackson McDonald Barristers & Solicitors Commercial Award

Bernard Seeber Pty Ltd, Kerman Contracting Building

Mondo lucê Interior Award

Bernard Seeber Pty Ltd, Kerman Contracting Building

RAIA Archicentre Award

Ian Dewar & Associates, Moorabool

People’s Choice Award

Kingsley Pearce Architect, Esperance coastal residence


WA Firefighter of the Year

Nominations are open for WA’s firefighter of the year awards, sponsored by RAC Insurance and the Rotary Club of Whitfords.

Members of the public are invited to nominate a firefighter, brigade or team from WA’s 20,000 volunteer and 850 career firefighters.

Nomination forms are available from FESA, fire stations, major tertiary hospitals, RAC branches, local governments and libraries.

Nominations close August 1.


Western Australian Industry and Export Awards

Benefits to applicants for these awards include access to consulting services to assist with business plan development, or to explore potential opportunities overseas.

Further information, including the 14 awards categories, judging criteria, past winners, and a sample application are available from

Queries can be emailed to

Applications close July 9.

Sponsors include Austal Ships, Austrade, BankWest, Ernst & Young, Export Solutions, Sun Microsystems Australia, and The West Australian.

Last year’s Regional Exporter of the Year winner Mt Romance, says it has grown in five years, to become the world’s largest producer of sandalwood oil and value-added products.

Mt Romance has been winning WA Industry and Export awards since 1996, when it took out the New Exporter of the Year category.

It followed this up in 1999 with a win in the Design of the Year section.


WA Seniors' Awards

Nominations for these awards are open until July 18.

Further information is available from (08) 9220 1141, and nomination kits are available from public libraries, the Office for Seniors' Interests and Volunteering, (08) 9328 9155, 1800 671 233, and

Sponsors of this year’s awards include BankWest, Channel Seven Perth, Council on the Ageing (WA), 882 6PR, GWN, Hollywood Private Hospital, The West Australian, Western Hearing Services, the West Regional Group of newspapers, and Woolworths.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
48 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer