Australian Safer Community Awards

Coordinated by Emergency Management Australia, these awards aim to recognise best practice and innovation in emergency management by individuals and organisations.

Five WA organisations featured in last year’s national awards.

Further information and nomination forms are available from FESA Emergency Management Services, (08) 9232 9342.

Bartercard Commerce and Industry Awards

This year’s winners are:

Local Chambers Small Business Endeavour Award – Gemini Introductions

Quokka Press Outstanding Business Award – Copier Wholesale

Swan Brewery Business Excellence Award – Nationwide Transport Training

TAD Most Innovative Business Award – Footwear Industries

Local Chambers Perth City Innovative Small Business Award – Gorshu Group

City of Canning Best New Business Award – Austwest Clothes Lines

City of South Perth Award of Business Excellence – Delaney Woods & Associates

Town of Victoria Park Award of Business Excellence – Sound Finance

Local Chambers Regional President’s Award – Simplicity Funerals

Perth Airport Award of Excellence – Perth Expohire and Furniture Sales

BankWest Outstanding Small Business Award – Doust Plumbing Products

Sunday Times Outstanding Small Business Award – Canning River Heritage Cruises

Small Business Development Corporation Best Home Based Business Award – ParadigmIT Consulting

Local Chambers Business Person of the Year – Peter Coxon, who established and co-directs the Coxon Group.

The Coxon Group leases, designs and constructs industrial and commercial properties

Bartercard Commerce and Industry Award of Excellence – Foodbank of WA

Community Services Industry Awards

The ninth annual Community Services Industry Awards will open for nominations this month.

These awards recognise individuals, small and large not for profit organisations, schools, businesses and state, federal and local governments, which provide community services and build community relationships.

Entry kits are available from (08) 9222 2833, 1800 010 004, and

More information is available from, and nominations close July 25.

This year’s WA sponsors include: Goundrey Wines, Lotterywest, Radio 882 6PR, Rendezvous Observation City Hotel, Staging Connections, The West Australian, and WIN Television.

Royal Australian Institute of Architects (WA) Awards

This year’s winners of the Heritage Council Conservation Award are: John Taylor Architects, for Our Lady of Mount Carmel church and priest house in Mullewa; and Cox Howlett and Bailey Woodland, for refurbishment works to the Perth Town Hall.

Western Australian Environment Awards

These awards are now open for nominations in 15 categories.

Further information, and hard copies of the nomination booklet, are available from Ceidwen Pengelly, at (08) 9278 0679 and

Electronic copies of the nomination form and the nomination booklet are available from

Nominations close June 12, and submissions, August 15.

Sponsors include the Beverage Industry Environment Council, the Publishers National Environment Bureau, the Sustainable Energy Development Office, the Waste Management Board, and the Water Corporation.

WA Firefighter of the Year

Nominations are open for WA’s firefighter of the year awards, sponsored by RAC Insurance and the Rotary Club of Whitfords.

Members of the public are invited to nominate a firefighter, brigade or team from WA’s 20,000 volunteer and 850 career firefighters.

Nomination forms are available from FESA, fire stations, major tertiary hospitals, RAC branches, local governments and libraries.

Nominations close August 1.

Western Australian Industry and Export Awards

Benefits to applicants for these awards include access to consulting services to assist with business plan development, or to explore potential opportunities overseas.

Further information, including the 14 awards categories, judging criteria, past winners, and a sample application are available from

Queries can be emailed to

Applications close July 9.

Sponsors include Austal Ships, Austrade, BankWest, Ernst & Young, Export Solutions, Sun Microsystems Australia, and The West Australian.

Last year’s Regional Exporter of the Year winner Mt Romance, says it has grown in five years, to become the world’s largest producer of sandalwood oil and value-added products.

Mt Romance has been winning WA Industry and Export awards since 1996, when it took out the New Exporter of the Year category.

It followed this up in 1999 with a win in the Design of the Year section.

WA Seniors' Awards

Nominations for these awards are open until July 18.

Further information is available from (08) 9220 1141, and nomination kits are available from public libraries, the Office for Seniors' Interests and Volunteering, (08) 9328 9155, 1800 671 233, and

Sponsors of this year’s awards include BankWest, Channel Seven Perth, Council on the Ageing (WA), 882 6PR, GWN, Hollywood Private Hospital, The West Australian, Western Hearing Services, the West Regional Group of newspapers, and Woolworths.

Worksafe Plan Award

Cleandustrial has been awarded a Worksafe Plan silver award.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
48 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer