New name for eastern suburbs

PERTH’S Eastern region has a new identity - ‘Perth’s Eastern Region.’ The Note wonders how long the Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council took to come up with the catchy name, which the council hopes will help drive economic, social and environmental progress across its six member councils. The Town of Bassendean, City of Bayswater, City of Belmont, Shire of Kalamunda, Shire of Mundaring and the City of Swan will now roll it out across banners, brochures, websites and community newspaper advertisements. EMRC chairman Cr John Beaton said the regional identity would help the area reach its full potential through the facilitation of economic development, regional marketing, lobbying, advocacy, and by encouraging investment in the region. For the record, Perth’s Eastern Region encompasses one third of the Perth metropolitan area and is home to more than 300,000 people and popular tourist destinations such as the Swan Valley, Perth Hills and Bassendean foreshore.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
47 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer