Education for Sustainability Competition

This competition, which forms part of the 2003 WA Environment Awards, and is open to all WA schools.

Schools must develop their own sustainability action plan.

Registration of interest closes April 28 and completed entries are due August 15.

Copies of competition details, the draft State Sustainability Strategy and a CD-ROM of case studies of sustainability in Western Australia will be sent to all school principals.

Further information is available from Ceidwen Pengelly, 9278 0679, or

Gibb Maitland Science Medal 2003

Western Australian palaeontologist Kath Grey

Dr Grey has been resident palaeontologist in the Department of Industry and Resources’ Geological Survey Division for more than 30 years.

Dr Grey’s work includes the analysis of stromatolites in sedimentary rocks in the Pilbara, and research in the Officer and Amadeus sedimentary basins.

Heirisson Rotary WA Principal of the Year 2002

Duncraig Senior High School principal Graeme Smith. Award sponsor was Home Building Society.

Jacobs Creek World Food Media Awards

Entry forms are available from and from Kristy Officer, (08) 9388 8877 and

Entries close June 4.

Mid West Tourism Awards


Accommodation-Hotel/Motel Holiday Units - Kalbarri Seafront Villas

Accommodation-B&Bs, Farm & Station Stays - Riverside Sanctuary

Accommodation-Caravan Parks, Backpackers or Budget - Kalbarri Backpackers

Tourist Attraction - WA Museum Geraldton

Aviation - Geraldton Air Charter

Boat Charter - Kalbarri River Queen Cruises

Land Tour and Transport - Kalbarri Safari Tours

Festivals and Events - Qfest

General Tourism Services-Private - Kalbarri Visitor Centre

General Tourism Services-Government - Shire of Irwin-Dongara Visitor Centre

Individual Contribution to Tourism - Pat Gliddon

Tourism Operator of the Year - Kalbarri Seafront Villas

Western Australian Citizen of the Year

Information and nomination forms for the nine categories are available from, 16 St George’s Terrace, Perth, (08) 9220 1808 and

Nominations close April 11.

Western Australian 2003 Training Excellence Awards

These awards recognise apprentices, trainees and vocational students, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, and the contribution to training made by trainers, training organisations and employers.

Winners will share in a prize pool of $82,000 and compete at the Australian Training Awards.

Application forms are available from and (08) 9235 6371.

Awards sponsors include AIM, Arrix Australia, CDM Australia, Goundrey Wines, Market Equity, McDonalds, Pretzel Logic, and The West Australian.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
48 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer