Awards focus on screen’s finest

THE local film industry is recovering from four days of film screenings, award ceremonies and networking at the 2000 WA Screen Awards.

Traditionally a forum for showcasing the talents of emerging, independent filmmakers with shoestring budgets, this year’s awards featured new categories for industry players.

The prestigious Lotteries Award for Outstanding Achievement was won by Excalibur Nominees and The Film & Television Institute for “Land of the Little Kings” while the Perthtribe.Com Award for Outstanding Achievement went to Prospero Films for “Diving School”, which was hugely popular when screened on the ABC earlier this year.

Alleycat Productions and Electric Pictures won the Palace Cinemas Award for Outstanding Achievement for “Winds Of Change”, and well-known Perth filmmaker Aliesha Walsh won the Jumbo Entertainment Award for Outstanding Achievement for “Perfect Pale Blue”.

Broome-based Rebel Films won The Clancy’s Award for Outstanding Achievement for “Rodeo Road”.

The major accolade of the year – the ABC TV WA Young Filmmaker – went to Pierce Davison, who also won the Dry Shand Award for Open Genre (under 5 minutes) for “The Apocalypso”.

Elena Pasquini’s heartwarming love tale “Parlami D’Amore” (Speak to me of Love) won the SPAA Award for Producing and the ECU Award for Writing. This short film featured outstanding art direction that transformed Fremantle into a Tuscan setting.

Other category winners included:

Hammond Worthington Award for Contribution to the WA Screen Industry – Bill Constable;

Network Ten Award for Drama – Elissa Down for “Samantha Stewart, Aged 14”;

Wildfilm Australia Award for Documentary – Melanie Byres for “Operation Feather Grinder”;

Animation Works Award for Animation & New Media – Dean Moore for “Home Page”; Cinesure Award for Open Genre (under 5 minutes) – Cassandra Edwards for “The Fall”;

Showfilm Award for Directing – Andelko Jurin for “The Ballet’s Floor”;

Perth Actors Collective Award for Acting – Lara Tumak for “Bound”;

Kodak Award for Cinematography – Mark Parish for Jebediah’s “Animal” music video;

Whiz Digital Award for Editing – Amanda Glen for “Samantha Stewart, Aged 14”;

XPress Award for Sound – Forrester Savall for “Enashell”; and AFTRS Award For Open Craft – Sam Hobbs’ production design for “They Came From Space”.

Add your comment

BNIQ sponsored byECU School of Business and Law


6th-Australian Institute of Management WA20,000
7th-Murdoch University16,584
8th-South Regional TAFE10,549
9th-Central Regional TAFE10,000
10th-The University of Notre Dame Australia6,708
47 tertiary education & training providers ranked by total number of students in WA

Number of Employees

BNiQ Disclaimer